Alumni Weekend

LATEST UPDATES: Restaurants Announced: Vincent Chiccos, The Darling Oyster Bar, Magnolias, Blossoms, Lewis BBQ. Register NOW!

Friday, April 26, 2019

Milestone Reunion Parties: Classes ending in 4 and 9

Please email your class agents listed below with questions.

Class of 2014 – 5th Reunion

Class Party: TBD

Class Agents: John Bozeman bozemanj18@gmail.com, Hannah Clarke hannahjane0518@gmail.com, Jack Cahill jcahill96@gmail.com

Class of 2009 – 10th Reunion

Class Party: The Blind Tiger 8:30, Friday April 26

Class Agents: Carson Parker carsonparker13@gmail.com, William Barnwell williamhbarnwell@gmail.com, Ellie Stoney estoney09@gmail.com, Meg Hickey megan.hickey13@gmail.com

Class of 2004 – 15th Reunion

Class Party: Edmund's Oast 4-6, Saturday April 27

Class Agents: Cate Morse Leatherman catemorse@gmail.com, Kenzie Goer kenzie.goer@gmail.com, Alden Knowlton alden.knowlton@gmail.com, Ruthie Ravenel ruthie@danielravenelsir.com

Class of 1999 – 20th Reunion

Class Party: Happy Hour at Fatty's Beer works 3-6, Saturday April 27 

Class Agents: Kathleen Stelling kathleenstelling@yahoo.com, Kate Adams osborke0@gmail.com, Alexis Lee Wilkes alexismlee@yahoo.com, Alex Mack Macon alexandramacon@gmail.com, Suzanne H. (Eaddy) Pickett suzeaddy@gmail.com

Class of 1994 – 25th Reunion

Class Party: Friday, April 26 at the Country Club of Charleston

Class Agents: John Payne johnmercierpayne@gmail.com, Anne Blakeney Kelley annebkelley@me.com, Robert O'Dell odelllandscaping@comcast.net

 

Class of 1989 – 30th Reunion

Class Party: Saturday, April 27 from 4-6. Location: Hunleys 1750 Savannah Highway 29407 

Class Agents: Costa Chakeris costachakeris@comcast.net, John Rowe John.Rowe@ropersaintfrancis.com, Anne Tamsberg Pope apleapfrog@aol.com, Ashley Wieters Redmond ashredmond1971@gmail.com, Allison Williamson charlestonartistcollective@gmail.com

Class of 1984 – 35th Reunion

Class Party: Friday, April 26

Class Agents: Janice Walker Fahy FahyJ@deflaw.com

Class of 1979 – 40th Reunion

Class Agents: Mark Phillips mark.phillips@nelsonmullins.com, Henry Hay hhay@muhler.com

Class of 1974 – 45th Reunion

Class Party: Friday evening, 6-9.  Class of 74 Jamaican cookout at the home of Lavinia and Sam Howell (3 Water Street), world premier reading of new short story by Todd Coleman and the “6th reading of “Ode to Spring.”  $15.  (No need to pay in advance; but please RSVP to  doughertypark@gmail.com   so Chip Caldwell can arrange for enough food and drink.) Saturday, 11-3.   Class of 74 cruise from Ripley Light Marina to Sandy Point (the north end of Kiawah for a beach party/picnic.)  $20.   (No need to pay in advance; but please RSVP to doughertypark@gmail.com   so we’ll have enough boats, food and beer.)  Also, let Park know if you can join Bill Scott, Chris Sosnowski, Sam Howell and him as Flotilla Boat Captains.

Class Agents: Park R. Dougherty PDougherty@rwbaird.com

Class of 1969 – 50th Reunion

Class Party: Friday, April 26

Friday, April 26, at 6:00-8:00pm--Julia and Alex Marshall will be hosting our Class gathering with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres at their home, which is very close to the PG campus. Their address is 7 Albemarle Point. Parking and transportation for the short distance from the School parking lot to the Marshalls’ home will be provided. PLEASE RSVP to the Marshalls at albemarshall7@gmail.com.

Class Agents: Chair: Alex Marshall pointboy7@gmail.com, Donald Fishburne donaldfishburne@gmail.com, Laurin McSwain lmcswain@lefkoff-duncan.com, John Farrow jbfarrow@comcast.net, David Garfinkel dgarfinkel@lsswlaw.com, The Reverend Brooke Myers brookemyersinstl@gmail.com, Gerald Sonenshine gsonenshine@wieinc.com, Alan Nussbaum ain123@comcast.net

On Campus Events:

5:30 PM - Legends & Lore

An intimate reading and Q&A with Porter-Gaud legends Wesley Moore and Bill Slayton. With a combined 61 years of teaching experience, there will be a plethora of stories, insights, and possibly some mind tricks. Come and raise a glass to these two legendary teachers as they finish their last year as classroom teachers. This experience will be held in the new Black Box Theatre on the Breezeway.

Saturday, April 27, 2019

 
REGISTER FOR ALUMNI WEEKEND
On Campus Events:

10:00 AM - Porter Military Academy Annual Alumni Association Meeting, Washington Hall

11:30 AM - Alumni Soccer Game, Singleton Field

11:30 AM - Porter Military Academy Brunch, Washington Hall

12:30 PM - Archives Room open for viewing, S&T Building Lobby

4-6 PM - Milestone Class Happy Hours (see class link above)

6:00 PM - All-Alumni Party on the green featuring: Live Music, Top Shelf Drinks, and Food Booths From Local Restaurants

Off Campus Events (Limited space available)

8:30 - History Walking Tour (Limited to 12)

My goal is to provide you with a historical overview of the city. We walk from the Market - through the old walled-city - to the Battery, and pass hundreds of historic homes, buildings, churches and gardens. It will help orient you and highlight what parts of the city you'd like to visit more.

-Tommy Dew's Walking History Tour

9:30 - Farm-to-Table Experience (SOLD OUT)

This 3 hour tour showcases some of Charleston’s best Chefs and Charleston’s award-winning farmer’s market, which was nationally ranked by Travel and Leisure Magazine. Starting at the corner of Meeting and John Streets at the fountain near the Charleston Visitor Center, you will meet your tour guide and that day’s participating Chef, who will lead the group to the farmer’s market to pick out the freshest ingredients the market has to offer. After you and your Chef pick out ingredients and you explore the market, your guide will take the group on a walking tour for approximately 45 minutes. Meanwhile, the Chef will prepare a multi-course meal utilizing the ingredients just purchased at the market, for a true farm-to-table experience.

10:00 - Carriage Tour (SOLD OUT)

Experience 25-30 blocks of Charleston’s historic downtown district. See houses, gardens, mansions, churches & parks. Learn about buildings, history, architecture, flora & the people that make up the “Holy City”

12:30 - Upper King St. Culinary Tour, with Guilds Hollowell '76 (Limited to 14)

This 2.5 hour tour offers insight into Charleston's historic Upper King Street neighborhood (recently named one of the top 10 food neighborhoods in America!), showcasing four of Charleston's culinary innovators who exemplify cooking in the New South!

4-6 PM - Class Party Happy Hours

6:00 PM - All-Alumni Party on The Green.

Sunday, April 28

10:00 AM - Remembrance Chapel Service, Hosted and led by the Porter Military Academy Alumni Association in the old St. Timothy's Chapel, 171 Ashley Avenue. ALL alumni are welcome to come to this chapel service.

11:30 am - A Celebration of Dickie Stoppelbein’s Life in the old St. Timothy's Chapel (St. Luke's) ALL Alumni are Welcome to come to this memorial service.                              171 Ashley Avenue. https://youtu.be/A93kSvq-Uzw

REGISTER FOR ALUMNI WEEKEND
Discounted Accomodations:
 

Springhill Suites is offering a room block Thursday- Sunday for $229 a night (normally $359.) The cutoff to receive this rate is 3/26/19. Mention Porter-Gaud Alumni Weekend.

98 Ripley Point Dr, Charleston, SC 29407 Phone: (843) 571-1711