Athletics Information

Dear Cyclones,

Welcome to Porter-Gaud! We’re excited to have you as a part of the Cyclone family. We will have a multitude of opportunities for student-athletes to compete as Cyclones, and if you are interested in participating in a fall sport, this information will be of particular interest.

You will soon be receiving a link is to complete your online athletic eligibility packet through schooldoc.com. Completion of this packet will ensure your eligibility for all Cyclone sports for the remainder of the school year. Your physical exam is good for one year from the date it is administered; any physical exam done after April 1 is good for the entire upcoming year. Additionally, all student-athletes in grades 5-12 will be administered an IMPACT baseline concussion test which is good for two years.

With the fifth grade moving into the Middle School in 2017-18, please review the opportunities below for our rising fifth graders:

FALL: Volleyball, Middle School Cross-Country (new), and Middle School Cheer (new)

WINTER:Basketball (Trident League and Saturday Morning Intramurals

SPRING: Middle School Baseball, Middle School Golf, and Middle School Tennis

We will have opportunities in May for new students to try out or participate in Cyclone Athletics. The first official day of fall sports practice is Thursday, July 27. Some sports will additionally have summer camps or practices.

  • Volleyball - JV and Varsity Tryouts May 8-12 and 15-19. “Open Gym” for Middle School May 9 & 10.
  • Cheerleading – Varsity Tryouts May 11-12 . Middle School Spring Practice May 11-12.
  • Football- Varsity Spring Practice May 8-12 and 15-19. JV May 9-12. Bantam May 15-16.
  • Varsity Cross-Country – All runners are expected to log 150 or more miles in the summer. Optional group runs take place throughout June and July.
  • Strength and Fitness Training – All student-athletes are encouraged to take advantage of the outstanding summer program run by Coach Wilson, our strength and conditioning coach.

Coaches’ contact information for all of our fall teams are listed below. If you have expressed an interest in a particular program, you should be receiving information from your team’s coach.

Sport

Coach/Contact

Email

JV and Varsity Volleyball (8-12)

Megan Crouch

mcrouch@portergaud.edu

Middle School Volleyball (5-8)

Al Wilson

awilson@portergaud.edu

Varsity Football (10-12)

Rick Reetz

rreetz@portergaud.edu

JV Football (8-9)

Chris Tate

ctate@portergaud.edu

Bantam Football (6-7)

Al Wilson

awilson@portergaud.edu

Varsity Cross-Country (7-12)

Hugh Knight

hknight@portergaud.edu

Middle School Cross-Country (5-8)

Al Wilson

awilson@portergaud.edu

Swimming (6-12)

Michael Walsh

mbwswim14@gmail.com

Girls' Varsity Golf (6-12)

Hutson Dodds

hdodds@portergaud.edu

Varsity Cheerleading (9-12)

Christy Christmas

christy_christmas@charleston.k12.sc.us

Middle School Cheerleading (5-8)

Al Wilson

awilson@portergaud.edu

Girls' Varsity Tennis (6-12)

Charlotte Hartsock

charlottehartsock@gmail.com

Equestrian (6-12)

Colleen Jones

cjones@portergaud.edu

Sailing (6-12)

Kael Martin

kmartin@portergaud.edu

Strength & Conditioning (8-12)

Al Wilson

awilson@portergaud.edu

Athletic Director

Larry Salley

lsalley@portergaud.edu

Middle School Athletic Director

Al Wilson

awilson@portergaud.edu

Head Athletic Trainer

Laura Richins

lrichins@portergaud.edu

Additionally, general Athletics questions may be answered by Hope Atkinson, Assistant Athletic Director (hatkinson@portergaud.edu, (843) 402-4678). We look forward to meeting you, and seeing you in Cyclone Garnet and Grey!

Larry Salley (PG ’87), Athletic Director


SchoolDoc

Shortly you will receive a “Welcome E-mail” from SchoolDoc.com with information about how to complete your student’s health information. SchoolDoc.com is an electronic health record system for schools, and will help us consolidate and integrate student health information into a centralized and secure location. Their system will give our Nurses and Athletic Trainers instant access to student health information, a key component in providing quality patient care. Attached are instructions for how to proceed once you receive the email from SchoolDoc.com.


Concussion Testing

Porter-Gaud takes the health of our scholar-athletes very seriously. We require concussion baseline testing before any student can participate in athletics. If we suspect a concussion during a sporting event, we use this baseline along with specialized software to test for symptoms and assess when a student is ready to resume normal activities. We will let you know how to schedule this testing with our athletic trainer.

Powered by Finalsite