Athletics Information

Dear Cyclones,

Welcome to Porter-Gaud! We’re excited to have you as a part of the Cyclone family. We will have a multitude of opportunities for student-athletes to compete as Cyclones, and if you are interested in participating in a fall sport, this information will be of particular interest.

You will soon be receiving a link is to complete your required online athletic eligibility packet through schooldoc.com. Completion of this packet by July 16 will ensure your eligibility for all Cyclone sports for the remainder of the school year. Your physical exam is good for one year from the date it is administered; any physical exam done after April 1st is good for the entire upcoming year. Additionally, all student-athletes in grades 6-12 will be administered an IMPACT baseline concussion test which is good for two years. IMPACT testing will be offered on-campus on May 8-9 beginning at 3:30 PM, June 25-26 at 10 AM, and July 23-24 at 10 AM.

We will have opportunities in May for new students to try out or participate in Cyclone Athletics. The first official day of fall sports practice is Thursday, July 26, but some teams will begin later. Some sports will additionally have summer camps or practices. The following spring and summer dates will be important for all prospective JV and varsity athletes (grades 8-12):

Volleyball - JV and Varsity Tryouts May 8-12 and 15-19.

Varsity Cheerleading – Varsity Tryouts May 9-11.

Varsity Football- Spring Practice May 7-11 and 14-18.

JV Football – Rising 8th and 9th graders, spring practices will be May 7-10 from 4:00-5:30 PM. Please contact coach Wilson so he can get a roster of who to expect.

Varsity Cross-Country – Runners in grades 7-12 can compete if they log 150 or more miles in the summer. Optional group runs take place throughout June and July. Contact Coach Knight for more details.

Strength and Fitness Training – All student-athletes in grades 8-12 are encouraged to take advantage of the outstanding summer program run by Coach Wilson, our strength and conditioning coach. Hours are Monday-Thursday 8:30-10:00 AM (girls only), Monday-Thursday 10:00 - 11:30 AM (boys only), Friday 8:30-10 AM (Open gym to boys and girls)

The following information will be of interest to all middle school/bantam athletes (grades 5-8):

Bantam Football- Rising 6th and 7th graders, will have Spring practice May 14 and 15 3:30-5:00 PM. Please contact Coach Wilson so he can get a roster of who all to expect to be there.

Middle School Cross-Country - Runners in grades 5-8th can compete. No minimum summer mileage requirement, but athletes are encouraged to run during the summer so that they can successfully train in the fall.

Middle School Volleyball - Girls in rising 5th-8th grades are invited to “open gyms” on May 14 and 15 from 3:30-4:30 PM.

JV/Middle School Cheerleading - Spring Practice May 9-11. There will be an informational meeting on Monday, April 30 for all rising 5th – 8th graders and their parents interested in learning more about JV cheer for the fall and winter seasons. This meeting will be at 3:30 PM located in Room 12 of the Lower School. This opportunity is open to anyone and all levels of experience are welcome! This meeting is very important to attend, as the coach will be giving specific dates for spring practice, cheerleading camp and stunting camp. If you are interested but unable to make the meeting, please contact Ms. Jessica Hanzsche at jhanzsche@portergaud.edu. She will be able to give you the all documents and answer any questions you may have.

Contact Information for all teams/coaches is below:

Sport (Grades) / Coach Name / Contact Email

JV and Varsity Volleyball (8-12) Megan Crouch mcrouch@portergaud.edu

Middle School Volleyball (5-8) Al Wilson awilson@portergaud.edu

Varsity Football (10-12) Rick Reetz rreetz@portergaud.edu

JV Football (8-9) Al Wilson awilson@portergaud.edu

Bantam Football (6-7) Al Wilson awilson@portergaud.edu

Varsity Cross-Country (7-12) Hugh Knight hknight@portergaud.edu

Middle School Cross-Country (5-8) Cameron Brown cbrown@portergaud.edu

Varsity Cheerleading (9-12) Christy Christmas cheercoach@portergaud.edu

Middle School Cheerleading (5-8) Jessica Hanzeche jhanzeche@portergaud.edu

Swimming (6-12) Michael Walsh mbwswim17@gmail.com

Girls' Varsity Golf (6-12) Hutson Dodds hdodds@portergaud.edu

Girls' Varsity Tennis (6-12) Charlotte Hartsock charlottehartsock@gmail.com

Equestrian (6-12) Colleen Jones equestrian@portergaud.edu

Sailing (6-12) Kael Martin kmartin@portergaud.edu

Strength & Conditioning (8-12) Al Wilson awilson@portergaud.edu

Athletic Director Larry Salley lsalley@portergaud.edu

Middle School Athletic Director Al Wilson awilson@portergaud.edu

Assistant Athletic Director Hope Walters hwalters@portergaud.edu

We look forward to seeing you in the fall! GO CYCLONES!

Coach Salley & Coach Wilson


SchoolDoc

Shortly you will receive a “Welcome E-mail” from SchoolDoc.com with information about how to complete your student’s health information. SchoolDoc.com is an electronic health record system for schools, and will help us consolidate and integrate student health information into a centralized and secure location. Their system will give our Nurses and Athletic Trainers instant access to student health information, a key component in providing quality patient care. Attached are instructions for how to proceed once you receive the email from SchoolDoc.com.


Concussion Testing

Porter-Gaud takes the health of our scholar-athletes very seriously. We require concussion baseline testing before any student can participate in athletics. If we suspect a concussion during a sporting event, we use this baseline along with specialized software to test for symptoms and assess when a student is ready to resume normal activities. We will let you know how to schedule this testing with our athletic trainer.